none
Import from Excel to Project - blanks cells are having dates automatically added RRS feed

• Question

• Hi. I'm very new to Project but have started setting up a Roadmap using it which is working fairly well so far, although have hit one snag.

I have data in Excel: it is a list of projects with 4 columns containing the dates of various stages (planning, initiate, execute, close). I have created a reusable map so this can be imported into Project and the Gantt chart to show pre-defined markers on the timeline for each stage on each project row. All well and good so far.

However, not all of the projects in Excel have all of their dates defined. E.g. a project might not yet have a close date. But when this is imported into Project a date gets applied for it. I have no idea why!

How do i get the import into Project to allow any blank cells from Excel to remain as blank so that nothing is plotted on the Gantt chart for that particular section?

Wednesday, February 26, 2014 11:59 AM

All replies

• Andy --

Here is an idea for you:  in your Excel spreadsheet, add one additional column called Task Mode.  For every task that is missing a date, set the Task Mode value to Manually Scheduled.  For every task that has all of the necessary dates, set the Task Mode value to Auto Scheduled.  This is assuming that you are using either the 2010 or 2013 versions of Microsoft Project, however.  Hope this helps.

Dale A. Howard [MVP]

Wednesday, February 26, 2014 2:09 PM
  • As Dale said (I just tested it), import you Excel spreadsheet with the task mode column (automatically scheduled or manually scheduled) will create tasks in MS Project (2010 or 2013) with blank cells for start and finish dates (assuming corresponding cells were blank in the Excel).

Then after the import

Hope this helps.

Guillaume Rouyre - MBA, MCP, MCTS

Wednesday, February 26, 2014 2:18 PM