none
Powershell - Zip Verification Fail Condition RRS feed

• Question

• Hi guys,

I hope somebody can point me in the right direction....

I wrote a script which archives a folder with a name starting with "BU", then it copies the zip file to a specific server and then deletes the original files. My script runs well but I would like to put some kind of verification in place. Since the files inside the BU folders are extremely important, I want to make sure that the zip file is not corrupted before deleting the original files.

My thinking was a loop which will run until it gets a message saying that "Everything is OK". In other words, if it doesn't get the "Everything is OK" message it will restart and do the archiving again. Now although I managed to get the script going (with a lot of help from Google), I am not experienced enough to know where even to start to get the loop inside my script. My first step would probably be to try and capture the verification message but I have no idea how this is done. This is what I have so far:

function create-7zip([String] $aDirectory, [String] $aZipfile){
        [string]$pathToZipExe = "$($Env:ProgramFiles)\7-Zip\7z.exe"; 
        [Array]$arguments = "a", "-tzip", "$aZipfile", "$aDirectory", "-mx9"; 
        & $pathToZipExe $arguments;
    }

function verify-7zip([String] $aZipfile){
        [string]$pathToZipExe = "$($Env:ProgramFiles)\7-Zip\7z.exe"; 
        [Array]$arguments = "t", "$aZipfile"; 
        & $pathToZipExe $arguments;
    }

cd D:\Logs\
    create-7zip BU* Logs_servername_"$(get-date -f yyyy-MM-dd).zip" 
    Robocopy D:\Logs\ \\SERVER_IP\e$\Logs\Archive\ Logs_server_*.zip
    Remove-Item D:\Logs\BU* -recurse
    Del D:\Logs\Logs_servername_*.zip

I know I need to use the following to get the verification done:

verify-7zip Logs_servername_*.zip

But how do I capture the verification output and place it inside a loop?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.
    Wednesday, June 17, 2015 2:05 PM

Answers