Internet Explorer 11 in business environment RRS feed

• Question

• Hey Everyone,

I am a system engineer at for a Credit Union and can't figure this out for the life of me. So at the start of the week we've had more and more users come to us saying that Internet Explorer isn't letting them into anything. Well some users of course exaggerate or I went to investigate myself, and it is exactly what they're saying.

Clickable buttons within IE 11 are not functioning properly. Anything with a web based login you cant actually click. Even some normal links are not functioning properly and we have no idea what the issue could be.

Troubleshooting I've done:

-Cleared cookies, history, cache, SSL state.

-Reset Internet Explorer to default settings

-Uninstalled IE 11 / Reinstalled IE 11

-Ran: SFC /scannow

-Ran: dism /online /cleanup-image /restorehealth

-Searched through update history for IE updates. Confirmed the latest update (KB3175443) was installed on the machine. This update is also installed on my machine where IE 11 is working properly.

-Tried to reinstall that latest update just in case something was corrupt in it.

- Investigated into a possible profile issue, but it doesn't matter who logs onto the workstation, it does the same thing and the user can go to another workstation and everything works fine. 

-Malware / Virus scans come up clean on the machines

-Java... I tried this one out of the blue on one workstation. Tried updating it and it just hung there. Uninstalled it. Tried to install a new client on it and it just hung there and wouldn't install it.  This lead me to believe its just a bad copy of windows and I should do a reinstall, but its very odd that 4 workstations (so far) have come to me this week alone. 

As a side note we thought this was an 8.1 problem, but then a windows 7 box showed up last night with the same symptoms.