Mail Merge - Line Suppression RRS feed

• Question

• This is a NEW issue that never happened before.  I have been using mail merge labels in Word 2010 Professional.   The data is an Excel spreadsheet.

I use the steps, insert ADDRESS BLOCK, Update labels, etc.  

Now in the final merge and print preview...there is an extra line before the second address line.   This occurs in the labels that there is four lines (Name, Street 1, Street 2, CITYSTATEZIP) and the line is inserted between the two addresses.    I have been using this method for over two years and this has never happened until recently.   I have tried the suggestions of inserting the individual mail merge field and that doesn't resolve the issue.

Two of us in the office are having the issue.

Wednesday, October 2, 2013 4:31 PM

All replies

• Rename NORMAL.DOTM to fix Microsoft Word problems. Locate the file from the path: %userprofile%\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Templates

After launching Word, we would get a new NORMAL.DOTM and test if the extra line still appears while Mail Merge.

This issue may also be caused Word add-ins, please go to file > option > Add-ins to disable some of suspecious add-ins to check the result. Or we may simply to test the behavior in Word safe mode. ("Winword.exe /safe") 

Thanks.

Tony Chen
    TechNet Community Support

Thursday, October 3, 2013 5:51 AM
  • That didn't work Tony.   It looks like when there is a three line address and the next label is a four line address ... the blank line is inserted between lines 2 and 3 of the four line address.   The entire document is like this.    It is too tedious to edit the individual labels, 700 labels (30 to a page).  Using the Avery 5160 or 5660 template.   As I said it worked fine up to a day or two ago.

I have no add ons and the files are already named NORMAL.DOTM (and the system will not let me edit or delete them)  I have over 8 Normal.dotm files.

Thursday, October 3, 2013 6:30 PM