none
Start Exchange Server Powershell as Administrator RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

Our company just enabled MFA for Exchange. I am currently an admin and trying to obtain messagetrace for users. Before MFA I can do it with ease but now with it open I cannot do it in my current PowerShell. I download the MFA enabled Powershell and connect to IPPSSession but if I try running any cmdlet command, PowerShell doesn't let me because I don't use it as an Admin.

My dilemma is:

Windows PowerShell: Can start as Admin / Not compatible with MFA

Exchange PowerShell: Cannot Start as Admin / Compatible with MFA

I tried remotesign and force remotesession but to no avail.

Any ideas?

Friday, October 13, 2017 4:20 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Here's my current Powershell Version

Name                           Value
    ----                           -----
    PSVersion                      5.1.15063.0
    PSEdition                      Desktop
    PSCompatibleVersions           {1.0, 2.0, 3.0, 4.0...}
    BuildVersion                   10.0.15063.0
    CLRVersion                     4.0.30319.42000
    WSManStackVersion              3.0
    PSRemotingProtocolVersion      2.3

Hi, it seems temporarily disabling MFA allows both PowerShells to work properly. I'll just stick with my regular PowerShell for now.

Thanks,

Thursday, October 19, 2017 1:19 PM

All replies

• You do not need to run any cmdlets as admin, it works just fine in normal session too. Are you using the latest version? Which cmdlets fail, can you give an example?

Anyway, to have the MFA-enabled one run as admin, simply right-click on it and select Run as Administrator.

Friday, October 13, 2017 6:53 PM
  • Hi,

Here's my current Powershell Version

Name                           Value
    ----                           -----
    PSVersion                      5.1.15063.0
    PSEdition                      Desktop
    PSCompatibleVersions           {1.0, 2.0, 3.0, 4.0...}