none
How can I sync custom SharePoint 2010 task list columns with Project 2013? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

I'm new to SharePoint and Project. What I'm looking for is:

- I've a task list in SharePoint 2010. I added a custom column(type: date). Is it possible to sync the task list, with the customised column, in Project "Professional" 2013??

Note that I refer to Project Professional.

- If is not possible with that version, can I sync with Project "Server" 2013?

I'd like to know it, before performing a new installation.

Regards,

dod4mod

hi folks!

Wednesday, May 15, 2013 11:35 AM

Answers

• Thanks - I am unable to sync between Project 2013 and SharePoint 2010 online - so there is a difference if you are able to sync.  On to your question.

After a successful sync, in Project Pro go to File > Info and click the Map Fields button underneath the Save And Sync list.  That should allow you to map the column (field) from SharePoint back to a spare field in Project.  You don't state what type of field you created in SharePoint (text, date, number) - but map back to Text1, or Date1, or Number1 as needed.

I hope this helps.

• Marked as answer by dod4mod Friday, May 17, 2013 2:15 PM
    Thursday, May 16, 2013 12:40 PM

All replies

• To the best of my knowledge, Project 2013 will not sync with SharePoint 2010.  I believe SharePoint 2013 is required.
    Wednesday, May 15, 2013 3:07 PM
  • Thank you for your reply.

I tried the steps below using SharePoint 2010 and Project Pro 2013:

------SharePoint 2010------

1 - add a "custom column" to the task list

2 - create a new summary task

3 - insert some tasks into the summary task

4 - do again steps 2/3.

------Project Pro 2013------

5 - open project pro 2013 and click on "save", then click on sync from a SharePoint site

6 - verify the site and select the task list

7 - click "OK" and synchronization is done, that's it.

What I want to solve now: