Unknown Machines and NAP RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

The company I work for is having a major network upgrade including the replacement of all edge and core switches.  Part of this upgrade will be the introduction of NAP.  We have just had two new 2012 r2 servers installed running NAP.

During our last meeting it was mentioned that only computers with an AD computer account will be allowed onto the network.  I'm not a network engineer, but look after the SCCM solution we have.

We would like to pay our hardware vendor to bring new pcs to site and install them on the users desks.  They can provide us with a text file containing the computers name in our company format and the machines mac address (eg PC123562*43:f3:00:e1:f3).  The local hard disks are blank and the bios is set to 1st boot PXE.

Currently on the old network, when a brand new machine connects to the network we press F12 to pxe boot.  SCCM has a task sequence deployed to the unknown machines collection and with a combination of UDI, VBS scripts and TS variables is able to determine where the machine is physically, what model and deploys the wmi file, drivers, packages and updates.  This is working fantastic for us.

so my question....

Once we have the new network in place and NAP, unknown machines won't be allowed onto the network as NAP won't have a record of it in AD.  How then do we go about being able to PXE boot machines and deploy images to them?

has anyone else been able to successfully deploy images to the unknown machines collection in a NAP environment?

Can the NAP server have a rule against SCCM objects?  We could import the new machines into the SCCM database which the NAP server could reference?

I'm still waiting for the new engineer to come back to me with models of switches and how they are using those in conjunction with the new 2012 nap servers.  My feeling is they are using an nps profile set to "if machine object does not exist in ad, do not obtain an ip from dhcp"

Thanks,