PerformancePoint configuration - first time use RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to SharePoint and PerformancePoint. We are running SharePoint 2010. PerformancePoint was never used before. I am trying to configure PerformancePoint for the first time.

In our test environment I was able to activate PerformancePoint Services Site Collection Features and SharePoint Server Publishing Infrastructure for site collection as well as site (only PerformancePoint Services Site Features). I also was able to create a BI site from a template and to run Dashboard designer (with some difficulties – had to find a work around).

I understand that I also have to setup an unattended service account for PerformancePoint. However when I go to “Central Administration” à “Application Management” à “Manage Service Applications” I do not see PerformancePoint Service Application. I am lost. I researched PerformancePoint configuration and learned that there are many little things you have to setup here and there. I am a SQL Server developer and this is an unfamiliar territory for me. Does anyone know if there is a site where I can find step-by-step instructions on PerformancePoint configuration from start to finish? Obviously I am missing some steps if I cannot see PerformancePoint Service Application within Service Applications list.

Please advise. You help is greatly appreciated…

Thanks!

Lana

Tuesday, June 26, 2012 2:10 PM

Answers

• Hey Lana,

Please check the following link for a step by step tutorial on setting up PPS:

http://www.sharepointboost.com/blog/configure-pps/

It is quite detailed and you should be able to setup PPS by following the steps provided. In case you face any issues, please feel free to post your questions here.

HTH.

Cheers,

IceQB

Please mark correct answers :)

• Edited by IceQB (MCITP, MCC) Thursday, June 28, 2012 10:53 AM
    • Marked as answer by Lana R Thursday, June 28, 2012 4:00 PM
    Thursday, June 28, 2012 10:53 AM

All replies

• Hey Lana,