Windows User Object / Entity RRS feed

• Question

• Hello All,

I have been researching writing a management pack for Ops Manager 2007.  It seems that the model-based design used in OpsMgr excludes any knowledge of a particular user.  From what I can tell, the default libraries easily support discovery of applications that are specific to a particular windows client (which, to my understanding, represents a machine with windows OS installed).  I was curious if it’s possible to discover applications on an individual user basis.  For instance:

Right now in my tests / investigation, I have written a dummy app that writes a key to the registry when it is active.  I have created a MP that uses a registry probe to discover this application (I used the Windows.LocalApplication entity.)  This works great, and I can now monitor this application on every machine.  What I would like to do however, is monitor it for every user.  So in the case that I have multiple users on the same machine, I can monitor the health of each instance of the application.

Is this achievable through some other entity?  I am not sure on the difference between Windows.LocalApplication and Windows.UserApplication; perhaps it is UserApplication that I need.

If it is not already built in, is it possible to extend some other entity and implement this?

Another problem I ran into is that the registry probe is limited to the HKLM hive.  Is this because I used Windows.LocalApplication as the inherited object?  The application that I want to write a MP for only writes information to HKCU.  I figured if OpsMgr would discover individual users then it would be possible to check HKCU.

Are some of my assumptions wrong? I am using OpsMgr 2007 R2 and agentless monitoring.

Thanks for your time,

Ryan

• Edited by Ryan Yandle Wednesday, June 3, 2009 6:16 PM
    Wednesday, June 3, 2009 1:02 AM

Answers