SLOW 8.1 set up RRS feed

• Question

• This is gonna be long and whiney and I apologize in advance.  1st off--I am NOT a techie, never have been, do not want to be.  Forced into upgrading to 8.1 last year when XP support ended.  I bought a wonderful, powerful Acer Aspire Z3-605  all in one desktop with a giant hard drive and a fast processor. The system came loaded with windows 8.0 [loaded at the factory in June 2013] -- I received it in Dec 2013.  The instuctions for set up told me to immediately upgrade the OS to 8.1.  Think 8.1 had been released in early Nov 2013.  So, non-techie that I am--I did that, reinstalled all my files,, etc...I have an ISP offering DSL and the speed was barely dial-up.  What I discovered after messing with it for several weeks--I should have downloaded all the missing 8.0 MS updates from the June 2013 install].  I had to reset the computer and start all over; I chose to NOT upgrade to 8.1 as the 8.0 installation with all the MS updates was working well, speedy, reliable, etc.  I set my update status to automatic and all was well--until Sept 2014 when that whole fiasco about the problems with the updates caused me to lose access to about half my apps.  I researched this on support forums and was told that I needed to go to 8.1--whole bunch of technical reasons which sounded reasonable.