Dead keys in Windows 7 not functioning properly RRS feed

• Question

• [.edit: it appears that the problem has more to do with Windows 7 dead keys itself. I'll keep the topicstart as it is, but a better problem description is in my second post in this topic]

Hi,

Having a Dutch native language I'd like to be able to write characters with diacritics and such. However, also being a programmer, I don't like for the quote buttons to behave like dead keys. So what I did a while back was download Microsoft Keyboard Layout Creator, and made my own keyboard layout based on the US International layout, but with the dead keys behind CTRL+key combination. So, for example, to write an ë, I'd do: CTRL+" e. This has been great help for me, and I've used the layout for years in Windows XP.

I recently upgraded to Microsoft Windows 7, so I downloaded the latest MSKLC to rebuild a new setup for Windows 7 (just to be safe) (I'm running x64 btw, I used the 64 bit version of XP as well). The setup installs the layout fine, and it worked. For a moment.

A few days after the install, it suddenly stopped working. The dead keys do no longer seem to be there anymore, it's like it's just a US keyboard layout now. Uninstalling and reinstalling my layout didn't help. I tried US International as I figured perhaps the whole dead key thing was broken, but US International worked fine. So I tried building a new setup package. Renamed my layout, rebuilt setup, ran setup, and it all worked again. But again, a few days later, no dead keys.

What is going on? Is something corrupting my layout or keyboard settings. If that would be an option, is there anything I can do to monitor these kinds of changes, for example making a backup of a relevant part of the registry during a working layout and comparing that to the a future version when it no longer works?
    Friday, November 20, 2009 9:18 PM

All replies

• Ok, apparently this has nothing to do with MS KLC.