none
group policy quetion- please help!

Question

• I have a (big) question regarding GROUP POLICY… I’m working on a class project and I’m still a novice with Windows Server 2012.

If anyone can help me with a basic chart or diagram to get me started it would be VERY helpful!!!! I’m pretty lost with group policy.

I have to create a network for a small company with a 1 domain controller, 1 Read Only domain controller, 1 other server, and a Client 8.1. The domain controller will have ADDS, DNS, DHCP and WDS. The Read only controller will have file and print services, DFS and IIS. The other server will also have File and Print Services, DFS and WSUS.The Client 8.1 will have RSAT tools..

I need to have 30 users and 30 computer accounts. One main user will be an IT admin named John Production. I need to have a base Organizational Unit called MyCompannyXX.

There needs to be 6 Global Security groups ( IT, Marketing,Finance, HR, Executives, and Future Branch)

There also needs to be 7 Organizational units called IT, Marketing, Finance, HR, Executives and Furture branch. All of these units  need to be put inside an OU called Company groups.

I need to have a password policy for the IT users. All users need to get to a company website when IE is launched.

Only IT users can access the control panel

I need to create (any) 2 policies for users

And 1 policy for IT users.

Also, the Group policy settings for WSUS need to be set for 3 groups: Computers, Member Serrvices and Domain controllers

THANK YOU!!!

Saturday, March 7, 2015 6:48 PM

Answers

• Hi Dianel,

How is your project going now? Are you able to build the environment according to the requirements? The roles you mentioned can be done by the"add roles and features" option in the server manager. Also you may manage the user/computer accounts and the OU/ GROUPS under ADUC snap-in on the domain controller.