none
which type of resource for car rental? RRS feed

• Question

• HI, I am a project 2010 newbie and I am a bit confused.

I have a task (clients' assistance: a man drives to different places to offer assistance to clients) and 2 resources  assigned to it: one is the man (work resource, payed according to the hours of work he does) and the other one is the car rental. The car rental costs $100,00 a day, no matter how many Kilometers/hours the man drives. The man does not always work 8h/day: some day 2h, some day 4h,...

Which type of resource should I use?

If I choose a work resource and I specify $100/d, the day the man drives only 1h the cost would be only $10 and not the entire $100. If I specify only the Cost/Use, the $100 would only cover the 1st day of the task, since there would be only 1 assignment.

If I choose a materials resource, I could write "days" in the Material field and specify the number of days the man lends the car, but this number could vary according to the scheduling.

Idem if I choose a cost resource: I always have to manually write the number of days.

So, is there a way to tell Project I want a "$100/solar day" work resource?

Thank you in advance,

Nino

Saturday, February 16, 2013 1:48 PM

Answers

• Hi,

Always test to see what happens, never assume.

It is a work resource you need

Assign both resources to the task 100%

Now in Task Usage change the work for the driver to a different  number of hours for some of the days..

The work (hence the cost) of the rental DOES NOT CHANGE as you think!

Greetings,

• Marked as answer by NinoLimoni Saturday, February 16, 2013 11:16 PM
    Saturday, February 16, 2013 10:08 PM

All replies