none
Major problem in Project Server 2010- Users lose their rights as soon as their Records are saved, RRS feed

  • Question

  • We had a problem that some Users were losing their rights when the AD synchronization ran. Now we realize that as soon as their records are manually saved, even without making any changes, they disappear from the Project sites and Project groups.

    any ideas why this may be happening?

    thanks

    Tuesday, March 5, 2013 7:52 AM

Answers

  • Hi,

    We also have this issue on our Project Server 2010 environment. We have also noticed that the resources lost their alerts on the project sites. We solved it by deselecting the "Check to automatically synchronize Project Web App users with Project Sites when they are created, when project managers publish projects, and when user perrmission change in Project Server. When the check box is cleared, Project Server users are never synchronized with Project Sites" option that you will find in Server Setting --> Project Site provisionning Settings.

    I hope this will help you.

    Best regards

    • Marked as answer by EPM Quest Tuesday, March 19, 2013 7:28 AM
    Thursday, March 14, 2013 8:50 AM

All replies

  • Hi there,

    When you say they are being removed from the Project groups, is this the Project Server security groups?

    Thanks

    Paul


    Paul Mather | Twitter | http://pwmather.wordpress.com | CPS

    Wednesday, March 6, 2013 9:10 PM
    Moderator
  • Hi,

    We also have this issue on our Project Server 2010 environment. We have also noticed that the resources lost their alerts on the project sites. We solved it by deselecting the "Check to automatically synchronize Project Web App users with Project Sites when they are created, when project managers publish projects, and when user perrmission change in Project Server. When the check box is cleared, Project Server users are never synchronized with Project Sites" option that you will find in Server Setting --> Project Site provisionning Settings.

    I hope this will help you.

    Best regards

    • Marked as answer by EPM Quest Tuesday, March 19, 2013 7:28 AM
    Thursday, March 14, 2013 8:50 AM
  • Hi there,

    If you mean they lose rights to the Project Site and Project Server permission groups on those Project Sites then this will be because you have manually added users to the Project Sites. When a user / group in Project Server is updated a synchronisation job occurs to resynch users from Project Server/PWA to the Project Sites - this is based on the users Project Server permissions. If the user has been added manually to the Project Site and that user does not have the correct Project Server permissions to access that Project Site, they will be removed next time the sync job occurs. As Aline stated, you can disable this auto sync and manually add users to Project Sites - this is an increased Admin overhead though.

    Thanks

    Paul


    Paul Mather | Twitter | http://pwmather.wordpress.com | CPS

    Thursday, March 14, 2013 9:26 AM
    Moderator
  • Thanks Aline & Paul Mather, that worked.
    Tuesday, March 19, 2013 7:29 AM