Prerequisite to run Get-VM RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm fairly new to Hyper-V and I'm having some difficulties to get all the VMs on the local network of my office.

With the "Get-Command -Module Hyper-V" cmdlet I can see that the "Get-VM" cmdlet is present on my list.

Then I run as Administrator "Get-VM" but it returns an empty list.

Opening the Virtual Machine Manager I can see the two VMs which in I'm interested in, both of them have the Computer Name set to:
    - Server-UTFRC.CompanyName.local
    - Server-UTFRP.CompanyName.local

And run on Windows Server 2016 standard.

Is there some setting that I need to activate to made them accessible ? 
    I'm not the one who configured the local network, but I have access to VMM and I have admin privileges.

Thanks for help.
    Best regards.

• Edited by Pickeroll Friday, August 3, 2018 10:19 AM
    Friday, August 3, 2018 10:10 AM

All replies

• You mention VMM - are you trying to use System Center Virtual Machine Manager?

Are the VMs you are trying to see located on the machine from which you are running the Get-VM PowerShell cmdlet?

PowerShell Get-VM and VMM are two different management tools.  It would be helpful to know exactly what you are using and trying to do.

tim

Friday, August 3, 2018 12:41 PM
  • I think you are looking for Get-SCVirtualMachine included in the VirtualMachineManager module.

Friday, August 3, 2018 1:49 PM
  • My approach would be to use either of these;

1. Logon to the Hyper-V servers and scan them for a list of VMs.

OR

2. Connect to each of the machine & execute [wmic computersystem get model]. If that's MODEL says Virtual Machine, that's a VM.

yup

Friday, August 3, 2018 3:56 PM
  • Thanks for the reply !

You mention VMM - are you trying to use System Center Virtual Machine Manager?

Yes I'm using System Center Virtual Machine Manager to check VMS and Properties.