none
Windows 7 Deployment from image using answer unattend file

Question

• It's been a long time since I've worked on corp OS deployment so I'm not very experienced with Win7 and unattend/answer file operation. The goal I'm trying to get to is to customize several parts of an OS image (Win 7 Enterprise) for use in WDS by desktop techs:

1. Create a local admin user account
    2. apply a custom theme
    3. Bypass the Windows Welcome screen

I'm using Windows SIM 6.1.7600.16385, opened the wim image and created an answer file with settings for PC name, locale, co name, reg user, etc- ideally everything the OS needs to boot into windows setup and complete without user intervention and without launching windows welcome.

The answer file is named autounattend.xml and is copied to C:\windows\system32\sysprep on the target PC. I run sysprep /generalize /oobe /shutdown /unattend:c:\windows\system32\sysprep\autounattend.xml .

Sysprep runs and displays messages saying it's processing generalize and perhaps one other section and then shuts the PC down. I then use WDS to capture the sysprep'd PC.

I boot a PC to WDS->WinPE and then pull down the image copied up earlier of the sysprep'd PC.

When Windows starts, it goes to the welcome screen. Further inspection reveals that nothing in the unattend file seems to have been applied to the PC. No user account created, no theme etc. The autounattend.xml file is still in the sysprep directory but the sysprep\panther directory does not have a copy of it (I think it should?).

What am I doing wrong? I beleive this autounattend.xml should be retained and used during window setup but am I missing anything?

Thanks in advance!

Pete

Monday, January 9, 2017 9:06 PM

Answers

• Hi!

Have you followed all the steps in the following article?

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc732723%28v=ws.11%29.aspx?f=255&MSPPError=-2147217396

Best regards
    Andreas Molin