none
Project Server 2010, project plan publish and version conflicts RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hi,

    I am having problems finding any info on how project server resolves certain conflicts.

    Lets say user A and B both have access to edit a project plan.

    A opens, edits and saves the plan but does not publish.

    B opens the plan edits saves and publishes the plan.

    A comes back and opens the plan again. Which version is it that A opens? And if A edits saves and publishes, what will we end up with?

    You see there will be a conflict with what A had as a draft and what B published. How is this handled?

    Thanks for any reply.

    Monday, January 21, 2013 4:13 PM

All replies

  • Hi there,

    As you know only one user is allowed to edit the project plan at any given point of time. When user or Project Manager is working on project plan using Project Professional, he is actually working with draft version of the project plan. Every time users saves the update data is synchronized between local cache and draft database.

    In your scenario since user B is the last one who saved the data, A will see his version  and if  just save and publishes the project plan without making any changes to the project plan, eventually changes made by B are being published.

    However at first step, if B does not make any changes when he opened the project plan for the first time ( After A), and just clicked on save, next time A is represented with the state where he saved the project plan.

    In short it depends on who opened , alerted or updated the project plan recently

    Hoe this helps to clarify your doubts.


    Hrishi Deshpande – Senior Consultant DeltaBahn
    Blog | < | LinkedIn

    Please click Mark As Answer; if a post solves your problem or Vote As Helpful if a post has been useful to you.This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread.

    Monday, January 21, 2013 4:26 PM
    Moderator
  • There are two distinct concepts at work here. If you follow the logic of these the answers to your questions should become clear:

    1. There are two versions of the project information stored in the data base. Draft and Published. The Draft copy is the one that is opened whenever you open a project from the server for editing in Project Professional. The data from the Published version is the one that is seen in PWA views (Project Centre, Project Detail, My Tasks, etc.)
    2. Whenever you open a project from the server for editing in Project Professional, it is flagged as 'checked out.' Each project can only be checked out to one user at a time. Before a second user can edit it, the first user must check in the project.

      So to answer your questions:

    • A opens (checking out), edits, saves and closes (checking in) the draft version of the project. There is no impact on the Published version and the team member looking at the PWA view does not see any of A's changes.
    • B opens (checking out), edits, saves and closes (checking in) the draft version of the project. B sees the changes that A made. B publishes the project.  The Published version is now the same as the Draft version. A team member looking at the PWA view sees both A and B's changes.
    • A opens (checking out), edits, saves and closes (checking in) the draft version of the project. A sees the changes that A made the first time as well as those that B made. A publishes the project.  The Published version is now the same as the Draft version. A team member looking at the PWA view sees both sets of A's changes as well as B's.

      Some people refer to the Draft version as the Working version - but it's the same thing.  In fact there are more than two versions of each project stored in SQL Server, but the two mentioned are the important ones for answering your questions.

    There are all kinds of nuances and tools related to managing the checked out status of projects. Those are for another post.

    Graham

    Monday, January 21, 2013 4:33 PM
  • HI,

    As Graham and Hrish have explained the process in detail to you, hope it clarifies the process in detail now.

    additionaly you can also note that A and B can only be able to access the same plane if they are avilable in the place as resources, and also if they both belongs to the Project server group which allows them to edit the plan.

    So in case you want to avoid this conflict that only 1 should allow to edit the project, you mite need to change group permissions of your resources. so only 1 resource as PM or TL should be added in the project as resource, rest of them should belongs to TM group to avoid changes in plan.

    You can also reduce the permissions in terms of save and publish as well. so not everyone should have the rite to publish the changes to Project server.

    hope this further help.


    Khurram Jamshed - MBA, PMP, MCTS, MCITP ( Blog, Twitter, Linkedin )

    Tuesday, January 22, 2013 8:27 AM