XP user profile missing or unaccessable. Unable to access, takes me to a guest or an old unused profile RRS feed

• Question

• XP.  First, I'm an IT novice... I'm here to see if anyone can help...Over the last few weeks, I would log in to my PC in the moring (which is on a business network), after logging off the night before and instead of my account/profile coming up, it would log me into a new guest profile with generic desk top, etc.  Error message for no profile found would appear and then would take me to a new user account with XP tutororials, etc.  There are only a few users set up on this PC.  A couple of corporate admins and an old unused profile (which I am using now).  I am the only daily user.  The few times when this occurred, I would log off or reboot and my correct user account and profile would open.  This time it didn't work.  I have temporarily transferred files, docs, favorites, etc to the old unused profile and am using that but, any suggestions how to recover that lost user profile/account?  Our limited IT tech tried safe mode and some recovery processes but, still can't access my profile/account.  Our IT tech says this was an issue with XP.  Though I've transferred accesss to files, etc. from my profile (which still shows up in the user profiles) to this old user account, I'm know I missing access to docs and info.  Many of the desktop icons, programs, etc. that I'm able to access, I recognize as early versions that under my profile are different or updated.  Any suggetions.  This last straw finally convinced IT department that I should upgrade my PC and newer Windows but, can't help feel I'm losing data if I can't get back into my original daily user account/profile.   Any suggestions? 

Thursday, March 20, 2014 12:07 AM

All replies

• Hi,

A couple of things could be at play here