Datasheet View with DataSource RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I am new in SharePoint, So I need your support for upgrade my self.

I have question ;

1. How we can create Datasheet View in SharePoint 2010 with data coming from back-end.

I have sql server 2008 database. I want my table data into DataSheet view and edit the data using sheet.

2. How can we edit List in DataSheet View Mode. As "Edit in DataSheet option" is Missing. How can I get option "Edit in DataSheet option".

Here I am requesting you to please give your kind glance to the issue & do some needful.

Vijay

Wednesday, July 6, 2011 10:48 AM

Answers

• Hi,

To make sure I understand your question.

You have created an external list in your sharepoint with an SQL Server 2008 database?

You CANNOT edit in Datasheet mode for your external Lists. Your best option would be to create a WebPart or a Control to use GridView Control (requires Code)

Regards

Ranga

Regards Ranga www.sharepointfrontier.com
    • Marked as answer by Lily Wu Monday, July 18, 2011 1:14 AM
    Wednesday, July 6, 2011 2:01 PM
  • Hi Vijay,

The option "Action -> View in DataSheet" is the way people switch to datasheet view in MOSS 2007. In SharePoint 2010, people go to the datasheet view by going to the list ribbon -> Datasheet View under List tab. However, if you’re using SharePoint 2010 business connectivity service application(BCS) to display backend SQL Server data in an external list of SharePoint site, you don’t have the datasheet view feature as Ranga mentioned above, the option is grayed out there. To know more limitations about SharePoint 2010 BCS, please see:
    http://www.chakkaradeep.com/post/BCS-Limitations.aspx

Thanks & Regards.

Wednesday, July 13, 2011 2:37 AM

All replies

• Hi,

To make sure I understand your question.

You have created an external list in your sharepoint with an SQL Server 2008 database?