none
Audit Mode & Sysprep RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm fairly new to MDT, but I've been reading posts and searching for solutions for a few months now.  I'm highly confused by some things I've been reading, and I'm hoping someone may be able to either explain some things, or point out the problems in my thinking.  I'm in the process of changing the way my org does imaging.  The current process looks like this:

1. Install Windows 7 Ent (x64) to a machine
    2. Use Ctrl + Shift + F3 to go into Audit mode
    3. Update windows
    4. Install common Software
    5. Install Office (2013 for now)
    6. Update windows again
    7. Update drivers for machine model
    8. Use Ghost to pull an (open) image that we can modify later down the line
    9. Run Sysprep with custom Unattend.xml file
    10. Use Ghost to pull finalized image that we can either deploy, or clone

There are tons of reasons we're trying to move away from this process, but a big thing I've been trying to do with MDT involves automating as much of this process as possible.  My 2 biggest walls right now are the following:

• There doesn't seem to be a good way to tell MDT to use Audit mode - it just logs in as the admin user and does whatever you set it to do
    • It seems like there's no good way to automate (via MDT) the actual Sysprep process?  all the things I've found online say that you have to actually boot into the system and then run the remote LiteTouch.wsf file to kick off the process - how is it that this doesn't just work from the WinPE?

For as much as MDT has the potential to make my life easier, I'm not understanding the manual parts to this.  Any clarity folks can provide would be a big help.  I'm using MDT build 8443 - We plan to move to Win10 soon, but I want to get things working for Win7 before I move on to the next OS

Thanks!

Monday, October 30, 2017 6:21 PM

All replies