Vista Home Premium Stopped Recognizing my USB Compact Flash drive RRS feed

• Question

• 1. I have a Sony Multi-card MRW62E-S1 USB card reader than I have been using for a couple years now to copy pictures from my compact flash card from my camera. It's worked fine for several years, but now suddenly it doesn't work. The card is a SanDisk Extreme III 2.0GB CompactFlash. Normally, I just take the card out of the camera, put it in this reader, and a drive pops up, and it all works fine.
    2. I've got Vista Home Premium with all the latest updates and service packs. 
    3. I have an HP Pavilion dv9000 laptop with 2 gigs of ram.
    4. The only changes are whatever updates Vista automatically pulls down. I haven't installed anything new in a long time.
    5. I start by plugging it into any USB port (doesn't matter which one. This same behavior occurs on all of them. Also, my other USB devices work fine in all these same ports, such as my printer, scanner, iPhone, iPod, etc.)
    6. Vista makes the noise about new hardware being connected
    7. The little LED light flashes a little, and then stays on solid
    8.  Vista sits there about three or four minutes and does nothing.
    9. If I wait long enough, like several minutes, the drive LED will flash again briefly
    10. Then the new drive letters will appear in the my computer window, when normally they appear in only a few secons. At this point, it the my computer looks like how it normally looks, with adding and F G H and I drives. Normally, i just double click on the F drive, and would work fine. It always shows all the driver letters, even though I don't have any media in any of the other slots in the multi function reader. 
    11. If I double click on the f: drive, it will sit there with an hour glass and that window will stop responding. Eventually, the only choice is to force it closed, and vista will let me restart windows explorer. It does restart okay.