none
Constraint task to start within time interval after another task. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I'm kind of new to project... so I'm sorry in advance if this is a stupid or very obvious question:

I'm modelling a project in which I need to consider the payment terms of the delivery of a machine.

The contract states the following:

• 40% of the machine have to be paid upon delivery,
    • however no later than 4 weeks after the supplier reported the machine to be ready for delivery.

I have created milestones covering both the completed delivery and the readiness for delivery.

How can I constrain the payment task to start a maximum of 4 weeks after the delivery confirmation, but right after completed delivery (if this is within this timeframe)?

I've looked both into constraints, which only let me set a fixed date as a point of reference (i.e. start before date xx.yy.xxxx), and links, which only let me set a fixed time interval (i.e. start exactly 3 days before date xx.yy.xxxx).

Is there an elegant way of doing this?

Thanks very much for your insights, pointers in the right direction and any kind of help!
    It's highly appreciated!

Wednesday, September 5, 2018 12:34 PM

All replies

• budedatude,

Your question is neither stupid nor obvious, particularly for someone who is new to Project so no need to apologize.

Reading your contract the meaning is not quite clear. The first part is pretty clear, 40% on delivery. However, the intent of the second part is "mushy". What exactly does "ready for delivery" mean? How does that relate to delivery (i.e. seems like it is dependent on whoever is delivering the machine)?

I think an example with some dates would help to clarify.

Meanwhile you might take a look at a lag between "readiness for delivery" and the payment of 4ew (4 elapsed weeks). So for example, if the readiness for delivery task is ID 1 and the payment milestone is task ID 2, the predecessor for task ID 2 would be 1FS+4ew.

John