none
Where did Bing really come from? RRS feed

• Question

• I will answer that question here in full.

I can't promise that any of you will like the answer, or even believe it, but it will be the truth.  I can promise you that much.  You are all welcome to comment on it as you like, just please don't be insulting or trolleriffic.  I would like to not have to respond in the resoundingly negative.

Bing started as a set of simple conversations at the University of Washington between Ioana M Preda, Professor William H Erdly PHD of computing and software systems and myself, Dale Jake Corner.

I was an intern working under a national science foundation grant (# CCF-0722176) for the building of an application for the dissemination and gathering of mathematical knowledge for the students to use.  The main holder of the Grant was Bellevue college, administrator and project overseer was the esteemed professor, project manager was Ioana.

Every week or two we would have a milestone meeting where we would discuss the project, the progress, and then we would discuss general applied computing.

During the last three meetings, this was back in 2008 just before the housing market crash, the first conversation was simple enough.  The esteemed professor started a conversation about the "browser war".  I had to instruct the professor that the browser war was finished because anyone could pick any browser they wanted.  In effect the public itself ended the browser war by their own choices.