none
MS Project 2013 keeps corrupting my project files... RRS feed

• Question

• I've got a fairly large project plan I've been working against in Project 2013 for several months now. Up until about a week ago, everything was fine. Now, when I go to open the .mpp from file explorer or "recently opened files", Project (the program) opens, but does not open my .mpp. It just blips really quick and acts like it's going to open, but then doesn't. When I try to just open the program, and then manually navigate to the folder where my .mpp is located and open it that way, Project actually stops responding and crashes.

I can open new blank project files fine, so I think my file has become corrupt. I've read a few things that could potentially help like repairing Project, recovering previous versions, and removing all links/predecessors from the plan, but they don't help. I was able to get a previous working version of the plan, but soon thereafter opening it successfully and re-saving it in Project, it reverted to the same corrupt behavior. Interestingly enough, I've found that I "can" open the project file directly from SharePoint in read-only (I have it uploaded there for my customers to see), but if I try to save-as locally again, and then re-open it locally, it becomes corrupt again.

This is very frustrating and mind-boggling -  I'm hoping somebody else that has experienced this can point me in the direction of a solution. Thanks in advance!!

Tuesday, May 20, 2014 7:31 PM

All replies

• Hi Ryan,

Could you please let me know your patch level, Regarding the recently opened files from Project Pro.

Can you please check in SP1 or later CU?

Cheers troubleshooting !!!

Phani

Tuesday, May 20, 2014 9:58 PM
  • Hi Ryan,

Here is my feedback in addition to the excellent advice given by Phani.