none
DPM 2010 - tape backups RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, 

I’m very new to DPM, and have previously used Netbackup and backup exec, so please bear with me. 
    At the moment I'm playing around with how DPM uses tapes.

I have one DPM server with a single small disk pool.  The same server has an LTO4 drive tape library attached.  Tape co-location is not currently enabled.
    I just set-up a protection group which is configured to backup a small amount of data on one server (no more than a couple of GB).   I selected the short term to tape and full and incremental backup.  Two bran new tapes were put in the library.

When I manually ran the job, DPM used one of the tapes.  I ran the same job again and this time it used the second tape.  However, when I ran the job again it requested a tape and did not append to any of the tapes.  Why didn't it append?

I have some questions about the following technet document too

When tape co-location is enabled, a tape on to which offsite backup is written will not be shown as Offsite Ready unless one of the following conditions are met: 
    a. The tape is full.
    b. One of the datasets has expired.
    c. Write-period ratio has been crossed. (By default, this is first backup time + 15 per cent of retention range.)
    Additional note: If the customer manually triggers two individual “create recovery point (tape)” actions for two protection group members that have the same long term recovery goal, DPM backup jobs will use a single tape. This is one way to check if tape co-location is working properly.

What does it mean when one of the datasets has expired?  Does this mean the copy on disk?

Long-Term Tape Protection (Without tape co-location enabled)