SCOM 2007 R2, SQL Server MP: How to discover SQL 2008 Express on Windows Clients (XP) ? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to Operations Manager and have searched around a lot without success to find a solution for my problem:

I have set up successfully a test environment with a Domain Controller, a single server SCOM with all SQL Server MPs and an Agent-managed XP Professional Workstation with SQL 2008 Express. Everything is working so far...except that the SQL 2008 DB Engine on the XP machine is not discovered.

The Object Discovery for SQL 2008 DB Engine targets "Windows Server". I have tried to override this and include "Windows Clients" but it did make a difference.

Is monitoring SQL Express instances on workstations not supported? Or what do I have to do to get it working?

Thanks in advance,
    Ralph
    Wednesday, December 16, 2009 3:19 PM

Answers

• Hi Ralph.

Before the SQL MP works, the Server OS MP needs to be in place as well. So this already tells the story: the SQL MP is targeted at SQL servers, not clients.
    Best regards, Marnix Wolf

(Thoughts on OpsMgr)
    • Marked as answer by Ralph Twele Thursday, December 17, 2009 1:34 PM
    Wednesday, December 16, 2009 6:09 PM

All replies

• Hi Ralph.

Before the SQL MP works, the Server OS MP needs to be in place as well. So this already tells the story: the SQL MP is targeted at SQL servers, not clients.

(Thoughts on OpsMgr)
    • Marked as answer by Ralph Twele Thursday, December 17, 2009 1:34 PM
    Wednesday, December 16, 2009 6:09 PM
  • Hi Marnix,

so would I have to author my own SQL MP to achieve what I need?

Best regards,
    Ralph
    Thursday, December 17, 2009 8:24 AM
  • Hi Ralph.

I guess so. What do you exactly want to achieve when I may ask?

(Thoughts on OpsMgr)
    Thursday, December 17, 2009 11:56 AM