Scripting Issue - New to powershell RRS feed

• Question

• Hello All,

I have wrote the below script which is giving me errors and I am unable to figure out how to debug. I am new to Powershell and still learning, any help will be appreciated.

===========

param(
         [string]$path,
         [int]$days
    )

$date = ((Get-Date).AddDays(-$days)).ToShortDateString()
    $files = Get-ChildItem -Path $path | Where-Object LastWriteTime -LT $date

$filecount = 0

if ($files.Length -lt 1){
        $filecount = 0
    } elseif ($files-isnot [array]){
        $filecount = 1
    } else {
        $filecount = $files.Length
    }

"`n The following " + $filecount + " file(s) have not been modified since $date"

$files

=======

Error: 

PS C:\Users\testuser1\Desktop\Powershell Scripting> & '.\4.21 - Writing another script.ps1' -path C:\Windows -days 9
    Where-Object : The 'Ilt' operator failed: Could not compare "09/15/2018 19:33:54" to "17/05/2019". Error: "Cannot convert value 
    "17/05/2019" to type "System.DateTime". Error: "String was not recognized as a valid DateTime."".
    At C:\Users\testuser1\Desktop\Powershell Scripting\4.21 - Writing another script.ps1:7 char:38
    + ... es = Get-ChildItem -Path $path | Where-Object LastWriteTime -LT $date
    +                                      ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
        + CategoryInfo          : InvalidOperation: (addins:PSObject) [Where-Object], PSInvalidOperationException
        + FullyQualifiedErrorId : OperatorFailed,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.WhereObjectCommand

Sunday, May 26, 2019 4:43 AM

All replies

• Just read the error message.  You can't compare a date to a string.  You must use both as dates.

Note that we do not do homework problems.  If you are having issues with learning then ask your instructor for help.

\_(ツ)_/

Sunday, May 26, 2019 5:14 AM
  • Hello There,