Moving Object from one OU to another OU RRS feed

• Question

• This is my first attempt at creating a PS script. My goal is to disable then move computer objects from one OU to another OU if its been at the source OU for at least 3 days. I got the Get-AdComputer cmdlet working but is having issue with the foreach loop. Below is the script I wrote. Thank you for all your assistance! 

Get-ADComputer -Filter * -Properties *  -SearchBase "ou=testPC,ou=clients,ou=sales,dc=xyz,dc=com" | 
    FT Name,WhenCreated,WhenChanged, @{Name="DAYS";Expression={$PSItem.whencreated - $PSItem.whenchanged}}

# Specifies the source OU to look in
    $SourcePath = "ou=TestPC,ou=clients,ou=sales,dc=xyz,dc=com"
    # Specifies the target OU to move objects to
    $TargetOU = "ou=tombstonedclients,ou=clients,ou=sales,dc=xyz,dc=com"
    # Specifies computers contained in source OU
    $Computers = Get-ADComputer -Filter * -Properties *  -SearchBase "ou=TestPC,ou=clients,ou=sales,dc=xyz,dc=com"
    #Specifies when oject was created
    [int]$CreateDate = $PSItem.whencreated
    #Specifies when object was modified
    [int]$ChangedDate = $PSItem.whenchanged

foreach ($computer in $computers) {
    if ($CreateDate - $ChangedDate -gt 3) 
    {Disable-ADAccount | Move-ADObject -Identity "CN=$computer,$SourcePath" `
    -TargetPath "$TargetOU"}
    #Writes customized output to a host.
    write-host "$computer will be moved to tombstone OU"

}

Thursday, June 30, 2016 12:01 AM

Answers

• I understand what your trying to do, but it's not going to work.  Your assuming that the only time the, whenchanged, attribute gets updated is if the computer object is moved from one OU to another.  This will never work.  The, whenchanged, attribute gets updated for any change to the computer object....to include when the computer account updates it's password with the domain.