open usb host controller / new hardware recognizing RRS feed

• Question

• Hello, Anyone have problems / solutions to a open usb host controller in device manager? I am a novice but my vista home premium OS will not recognize a new usb keyboard that is compatable for the OS.

Friday, March 28, 2008 7:37 PM

Answers

• Hello George,

If the USB port works well with your flash disk as description above, upgrading motherboard is an optional troubleshooting step, I think.

I’ve also asked some other Saitek Eclipse users, they don’t think this keyboard needs any additional driver and it’s compatible with Windows Vista, just as many other USB 2.0 devices. Based on that, I really suspect if the keyboard is damaged or having some conflictions inside.

George, before contacting the manufacturer for repairing or refunding this device, I recommend you to try a clean boot, to know if some 3rd party applications or services are preventing system to recognize this device.

(KB929135) How to troubleshoot a problem by performing a clean boot in Windows Vista
    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;929135

Thanks for considering my assistance. Microsoft are always trying the best to offer better service for you.

Cheers,

Lionel

Wednesday, April 2, 2008 7:52 AM

All replies

• Hello Panzer,

If the keyboard is compatible with Windows Vista and not damaged, you may need to reinstall the updated driver for the motherboard/chipset.

Because the USB host controller is generally driven by motherboard driver. However, please confirm if it’s really the root cause. To check that, you may try to connect other USB device into the same port and test it.

Let us know the result if possible.

Cheers,

Lionel

Tuesday, April 1, 2008 12:56 AM
  • Thanks Lionel,