none
DC and client machine connectivity - Hyper V RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm fairly new to setting up a server and creating a virtual network, so I'm looking for some assistance to help me out.

I'm running Hyper-V through a 64 bit OS and I have two virtual machines created locally. My DC machine which is running Server 2012 Essentials, and my client machine which is running Windows 8.1.

When initially installing the DC, I created a domain as part of the initial server set up. For testing purposes, and as this is a lab, I called it TEST. When creating the domain completely the FQDN is TEST.local.

As I'm running this through Hyper V, I've added internal network connections to the settings of both machines, in preparation for them talking to each other in the future.

As I say, I'm very new to this, and I know it's not just a case of joining the client machine to the domain as I'm sure that certain pre requisites need to be in place first. I'd added the client machine into the Computers container in AD and also created a domain users account on the DC.

As I say, there's more for me to do here. I just need to be put in the right direction of what needs to be done.

One thing to mention is when I try to join the client machine to TEST.local, it didn't give me the chance to authenticate. It just says that the DC cannot be contacted. However, when I try to join the client machine to TEST, it asks me to login but it eventually fails because it cannot be contacted. As I'm not able to connect to TEST.local, is this due to DNS?

Sorry if this has already been covered in a previous post, but I did have a quick look and couldn't see anything that covers what I need.

Thanks in advance.

Friday, January 29, 2016 8:29 AM

Answers

• Hi:

I'm going to assume that the host machine is Server 2012 R2.... correct me if that is not right.