Should a Q: drive be available in the Client OS? RRS feed

• Question

• Greetings all,

I'm new to AppV, so please forgive me if i ask any stupid question. I have followed the guide for setting up a testing environment of AppV 4.5 and things seem to be working fine. I managed to sequence and stream a few apps. However, I'm still confused with the drive Q requirement. I read other posts as well regarding the Q drive but somehow didn't get the right answer. My question is:

Should i create a physical drive named Q: in the terminal server or it should only be created in the machine where I do the sequencing only. In my test environment i created a Q drive where I installed the applications (during sequencing). I also created a Q drive in the Terminal server but somehow when i log in to the terminal server another drive E: is created and drive Q is empty. The applications still work fine but i just want to know how things are done the right way.

Thanks in advance,
    Vladimir
    Tuesday, July 14, 2009 8:07 AM

Answers

• Hi Vladimir,

Just to expand on znack's answer; 

Sequencer:
    You only need to create the Q:\ on the sequencer machine.
    Note that this doesn't have to be Q - it could be any letter but ideally will be consistent across your environment
    It must be a local disk/partition and not a network share or SUBST'd letter)

Client:
    When you install the client component it will ask you for your preferred drive letter.
    This should be the same as the letter selected on the sequencer
    This creates a 'virtual' driver letter which is used to 'host' or 'mount' your virtual applications