MDT 2013 stalls during first boot into OS RRS feed

• Question

• I just built a new MDT 2013 server (on 2012 R2) and am attempting to deploy Windows 7 from it via litetouch.  I've been working with MDT 2010 for several years so I am pretty familiar with how it works and just about everything is fine with 2013 except for one small issue.  When the sequence boots into Windows 7 for the first time, it just sits there at the desktop and nothing happens.  This happens every time and performs the same on virtual and physical machines.  All I have to do is reboot the machine and the task sequence will pick right up where it left of and finish everything correctly.

I have found similar reports that seem to be resolved by adding pauses to either the ltibootstrap, litetouch, or ztiutility scripts to give the machine additional time to initialize, but none have worked for me.  The only seemingly relevant log entry comes from the BDD file.  The last entry is:

<![LOG[RUN: regsvr32.exe /s "C:\Users\wdsbuild\AppData\Local\Temp\Tools\x64\Microsoft.BDD.Utility.dll"]LOG]!><time="17:47:46.000+000" date="03-25-2014" component="LiteTouch" context="" type="1" thread="" file="LiteTouch">
    <![LOG[FAILURE (Err): -2147024770  0x8007007E: CreateObject(Microsoft.BDD.Utility) -]LOG]!><time="17:47:46.000+000" date="03-25-2014" component="LiteTouch" context="" type="2" thread="" file="LiteTouch">

I question the relevance of this entry because I don't actually have to manually register the dll to get it to work again.  Everything else in the BDD and SMSTS logs looks fine and don't appear to give any indication of what is going on.

I have also attempted to add an additional restart to the task sequence immediately following the restart that is initiated after the OS has been laid down, but since the task sequence doesn't start after that first autologin, it doesn't execute.

Thoughts?

Tuesday, March 25, 2014 11:27 PM

Answers