none
App-V 4.6 Sp1 deletes attempts to Sequence Google Chrome 17

Question

• I'm new to using App-V and was attempting to sequence Google Chrome 17.  However I noticed that App-V 4.6 Sp1 likes to delete parts of Google Chrome as it is sequenced. 

Following what was discussed in:

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-GB/appvgeneralsequencing/thread/1683399a-fcaa-48bb-a354-733a57e9fd4b

I was able to get a semi functional Google Chrome but some subtle things were still not working.  Perhaps I overlooked a detail or two.

But one other thing I noticed is that Google Chrome uses the following Registry Key's subkeys to figure out what it's own directory path is otherwise the Chrome.exe has to be in the version number subfolder to even launch:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Google\Update\Clients

After Chrome is sequenced, in addition to the Chrome folder, the above key is also deleted.  The registry keys are in package but the package acts like they are not there.

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 9:41 PM

Answers

• My advise would be to check your exclusion items with in the APP-V Sequencer go to tools options and it's the third tab over. Sounds like they get captured during the sequence but then are excluded.

You could refer to Aarons site for version 15. It would still be applicable.

http://blog.stealthpuppy.com/virtualisation/sequencing-google-chrome-15/

Blog: rorymon.com Twitter: @Rorymon

Wednesday, March 28, 2012 9:59 PM
  • Just finished kicking the tires of App-V 5.0.  Sequenced Google Chrome Enterprise Edition 22 and 23 and they work fine!  Sequencing doesn't delete folders anymore!  Group Policy objects work great too.

Now want to sequence Google Chrome "Canary" version 24.  It has a bug fix for printing from Google Docs to a Xerox printer.
    • Marked as answer by VgerNYC Thursday, November 8, 2012 2:20 AM
    • Edited by VgerNYC Thursday, November 8, 2012 2:24 AM
    Thursday, November 8, 2012 2:20 AM

All replies