stand alone set-up (newbee question) RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

i'm kind of new to the MS virtualization, and i've got some questions about it.
    Can  anyone tell me if i need to install any server if i want to use Softgrid 4.5 in stand alone mode only?

Sunday, November 9, 2008 11:49 AM

Answers

• Thanks for calling out the documentation bug.  I've made a not of it and sent it to the proper owners for update.

Gene Ferioli

Sunday, November 23, 2008 4:03 PM

All replies

•  

You would not need to install a Management or Streaming server if you are implementing all of the clients as Stand Alone.  In standalone, you would use a MSI based package importing, Custom SFTMIME or other scripting, or possibly an ESD solution for publishing packages and applications.

There is no need to install a server.

mattmcdermott

Sunday, November 9, 2008 1:23 PM
  •  

Thanks for the answer. I've had the same idea, but after sequensing the simple package to start with, i get this error:

The Application Virtualization Client could not complete the operation.

The system cannot find the path specified.

Error code: 4505CD-14200A2A-00000003

I'm trying to use msi package, so after sequencing, i go to deployment tab and set "generate msi" on.

Protocol is set to FILE and path is set to UNC path to the network share containing all the files...

Client is configured according to MS App-V  v.4.5trial Guide page 47-48

What did i do wrong?

Monday, November 10, 2008 12:55 PM
  • Stand Alone clients must be configured for Stand Alone usage.  Also, anything you change in the deployment tab around the path won't do anything for a Stand Alone client installing an MSI.  There are two different configurations for Stand Alone client, depending on whether or not you want to do standlone with MSI or Streaming with MSI.