Powershell script requiring Powershell 2.0 not working in v5.1 Start-Process : A parameter cannot be found that matches parameter name 'Path' RRS feed

• Question

• I'm absolutely sure this script needs work; but, I'm not sure where to start except, let's start with Is there a list of requirements or a update path for scripting changes from Powershell version 2.0 to 5.1?
    This issue right from the get go is that it's not accepting parameter 'name's.  I've noticed that the parameters don't have any explicit declaration except in checking the values in the param section, but the errors are for line 1, in the parameters being passed and it's failing not recognizing the name "Path" as in the following line.
    Start-Process NewScript.ps1 -Path "C:\ValidPath" or

both "Path" and "XML" as in

Start-Process PsFCIV -Path C:\tmp -XML DB.XML

Can someone point me in the right direction to handle this... Yes, I'm new to Powershell scripting; but, I have an extensive programming background in many languages.  My biggest issue is that most of the TechNet articles, and Documents are not specific to Version 5.1, and well... knowing what's now needed versus what was needed then for earlier versions is proving problematic.  I feel like this is related to parsing the command line variables, but it's not failing at the data; but at the stored variable name for the parameter like it doesn't know it exists.  Since originally this was in Version 2 or 2.5 (hard to tell), it seems some kind of declaration is missing for the parameters.  In a script where there are multiple parameters being passed, it's failing on the "-ParameterName" part of the command line, not the data itself.  

If I leave out the designation for the name, it will accept the parameter, but fail at the next