none
Editing Description Field on a Computer in AD RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to PowerShell, just learning. I have this script below that works fine to pull up stalled computers for 90 days and disable them then write a description to the description field.

$DaysAgo=(Get-Date).AddDays(-90)
    $CurrentDate = Get-Date
    $CurrentDate = $CurrentDate.ToString('MM-dd-yyyy_hh-mm-ss')
    $Domains = "xxxA1.xxxx.xx","xxxA2.xxx.xxx","xxxA3.xxx.xxx"

$Computers = Get-ADComputer -Server $Domain -Filter {(PwdLastSet -lt $DaysAgo -and (OperatingSystem -Like "Windows 7*" -or OperatingSystem -like "Windows 10*"))} -Properties PwdLastSet,LastLogonTimeStamp,Description,OperatingSystem
    foreach ($computer in $computers){
               $desc="Disabled by AD-Group on $(Get-Date) - $($computer.Description)"

Set-ADComputer $Computer -Description $desc -Enabled $false

}

Now I am trying to be able to query any of these computers that I need to re-enable them back and remove the description that was put after disabling them ($desc="Disabled by AD-Group on $(Get-Date) - $($computer.Description)") but leave anything else alone in the description field. This is what I have come up with so far, but how can I remove the description part i.e. "Disabled by AD-Group 03/15/2018 12:03? Please help?

$ComputerName = Read-Host "Enter Computer Name "

$Domains = "xxxA1.xxx.xxx","xxxA2.xx.xxx","xxxA3.xxx.xxx"

foreach ($Domain in $Domains) {

Get-ADComputer -Server $Domain -Filter {Enabled -eq $false -and Name -like $ComputerName -and Description -like "Disabled by AD-Group*"} -Properties PwdLastSet,LastLogonTimeStamp,Description,OperatingSystem

Set-ADComputer $Computer -Enabled $True

}

Thanks!

Thursday, July 19, 2018 9:30 PM

Answers

• Here is the code I have. Apparently no errors but its not removing the description either..  Thanks!

$Domains = "xxxA1.xxx.xxx","xxxA2.xxx.xxx","xxxA3.xxx.xxx"