none
Customizing Task Reports RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am somewhat new to MS Project 2013 (I learned on 2010) and I am trying to develop my skills with the reporting functions.  For one of the projects that I lead, I want to develop a Task Dashboard that contains pertinent information and KPIs for the project.  I am almost done with the dashboard, but the last piece that I am struggling with is developing a custom chart.

Essentially, I want to build a chart that shows the % Complete status of all tasks.  Therefore, the Y axis would be a range (say 0 -200 or whatever encompasses your total task count) and the X axis would have bars that show the number of tasks in each % Complete category (0%, 25%, 50%, 75%, and 100%).  Any help or suggestions are appreciated.  Thanks!

0%     25%     50%     75%     100%

• Edited by nbrittain28 Thursday, January 8, 2015 3:05 PM
    Thursday, January 8, 2015 2:59 PM

All replies

• nbrittain28 --

After experimenting with creating a custom group to group on the % Complete value, I would encourage you to DROP this idea for your chart.  In a project with less than 100 tasks, I had to create a HUGE chart to see all of the tasks groups by their % Complete value.  So, I would strongly recommend you drop the grouping requirement.

Insert a new Clustered Column chart in your report.  In the Field List sidepane, do the following:

1. Deselect the Work, Actual Work and Remaining Work checkboxes.
    2. Expand the Number field section and select the % Complete checkbox instead.
    3. Click the Filter pick list and select the All Tasks item.
    4. Click the Outline Level pick list and select the All Subtasks item.

Keep in mind that if you have 200 tasks in the project, you will need to widen the chart considerably!  Hope this helps.

Dale A. Howard [MVP]

Thursday, January 8, 2015 6:52 PM
  • Dale,