Find all nested groups and circular nestings. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I am new to Powershell and anything beyond basic BAT file scripting, so please excuse me if I'm a little slow to understand.

OK,

I need to figure out exactly how out of control our AD groups are. (they're bad, really bad)

I found this script on TechNet that does _almost_ exactly what I need:

function Get-NestedGroups 
    {param ($strGroup,$Offset)

$currentGroupGroups = (Get-ADGroup –Identity $strGroup –Properties Memberof).Memberof

ForEach ($memGroup in $currentGroupGroups) {
        If ($script:groupList.ContainsKey($memgroup) -eq $False) {
           $strMemGroup = ($memGroup -split ",*..=")[1] 
           $script:GroupList[$memGroup] = $True
           "$Offset$strMemGroup"
           "$Offset$strMemGroup" | Add-Content $logfile
           Get-NestedGroups -strGroup $strMemGroup $($Offset + ",")
        }
        Else {
           "$Offset$strMemgroup Circular Reference" | Add-Content $logfile
        }
      }
    }

$logfile = ".\nestedtest.csv"
    "Level1,Level2,Level3,Level4,Level5,Level6,Level7,Level8,Level9,Level10" | Add-Content $logfile # initialise log file.

$groupList = @{} # Hash table to track group memberships.

$group = "MiserableAccountingDrones"

$group | Add-Content $logfile

Get-NestedGroups $group ","

The problem is, I have a list of more than 2000 AD groups... I cannot spend the next month running them through one at a time.

I would like to replace:

$group = "MiserableAccountingDrones"

With something that will pull the group names from a text fiel or a csv file and run through the whole list.

I have tried several things to make this work.

Get-Content ".\Groups.txt" | Foreach-Object{
       $group = $_.Split('=')
       New-Variable -Name $group[0] -Value $group[1]
    }

and

$csv = Import-Csv ".\Groups.csv"
    foreach ($group in $csv) {
        Get-NestedGroups $group ","   
    }

They both cause an error with the Get-ADgroup –Identity cmdlet.