none
Need Help with MDT RRS feed

• Question

• Hi. I'm a Newb and I'm trying to learn Windows Server 2016 for my business. I am using VMWARE, and I'm trying to get this MDT to work with the virtual machine to run off the server. It seems to go well but then comes up as "A Connection to the deployment share (\\myserver\DeploymentShare$) could not be made. Can not reach DeployRoot. Possible cause: Network routing error or Network Configuration error. 

I don't know what I am missing doing, but if anyone can help would be grand. I have setup the server to act as a router and added in DHCP if that helps. 

I am thankful for any help I get. 

Thursday, November 22, 2018 12:48 AM

Answers

• Are you trying to build a VM using MDT? It could be down to your boot images not having the VMware Network Adapater drivers imported in as your VM needs these loaded in order for it be connected within the WinPE environment mode
    • Marked as answer by M-ManLA Thursday, November 29, 2018 8:27 PM
    Friday, November 23, 2018 11:50 AM
  • When you build a VM in the console you should get a VMGuest disk to mount to the CD drive, this should contain the network drivers on here as well
    Monday, November 26, 2018 6:55 PM
  • Great. So now you need to extract the files using this command setup.exe /A /P C:\Temp
    Create a folder called temp i.e. on your c drive and then run that command and you should be able to get the drivers that way to import them in
    Thursday, November 29, 2018 8:43 AM

All replies

• Are you trying to build a VM using MDT? It could be down to your boot images not having the VMware Network Adapater drivers imported in as your VM needs these loaded in order for it be connected within the WinPE environment mode
    Friday, November 23, 2018 11:50 AM
  • AHHHHHH!!!!!! That could make a lot of sense. So I should download the drivers to my image on MDT? 
    Do I download it from VMWare? 
    • Edited by M-ManLA Monday, November 26, 2018 9:18 AM