none
DPM 2010 - Backup job keeps failing - error ID 2019 Details: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host RRS feed

• Question

• Hi folks,

I wonder could you help me!

Most of our backups are running and completing fine but there is just one job that begins to backup then gets to the same point all the time and then crashes out with the error ID 2019 Details: An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host (0x80072746).

It always backs up just under 1.85 Gig and then bombs out at the same point each time.

The only way that we can get the job to complete to write everything to disk is to exclude that directory that the job fails at from the backup but now it is failing to write the backups to tape.

So I’m wondering is there a way to delete the cached copy or what ever it is in DPM that is stopping the backup from going to tape ?

I’m very new to DPM 2010 but hopefully I have explained this correctly and you understand what I am trying to achieve.  Basically over the last few weeks that server hasn’t synced due to not being able to backup that particular folder.  Now that we have got a completed back, excluding that folder how do we get that successful backup copy dumped out to tape, as it appears that the old failed jobs is stopping this from being able to happen.

Thanks in anticipation,

Bonemister

Friday, August 9, 2013 8:55 AM

Answers

• HI,

It sounds like you may have NTFS corruption issue.  Please run Chkdsk /f X: (where X: is the problematic volume) - then when chkdsk gets finished see if DPM can protect the problematic directory again.  If so, tape backup on the DPM server should also succeed.

If chkdsk does not fix the issue, then look in the DPMRACurr.errlog on the protected server and DPM Server right after the job fails and see if you can find the offending file and try moving that off the volume.