Publishing Reports in PPS RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, 

I am a little new to PPS. So i have a few basic questions.

1. PPS has a server component and Client access CALs component. Where are the CALs used typically?
    2. In the monitoring and Analytics, I could notice that the Dashboard Designer is the key component to design reports or to import reports from SQL reporting services or proclarity analytics server. Are any other components in monitoring and analytics that is useful in creating reports?
    3. How do we publish reports to end users using PPS? I know we can use Sharepoint to do the same. But using just the PPS components how do we publish reports? Can reports be directly published to Proclarity Analytics Server for end users to access them? 4. If we do not use Sharepoint portal for publishing the reports, do we have to purchase Proclarity Desktop designer to view PPS reports?

In short, we have currently budgeted only for PPS server and CALs (and of course SQL server 2005). With these components can we publish reports to end users without any other components involved? Let me know.

Thanks for your help and support.

Shri
    Deepak
    Tuesday, December 23, 2008 3:21 PM

Answers

• Shriram Rajagopal said:

Hi, 

1. PPS has a server component and Client access CALs component. Where are the CALs used typically?

For License questions I suggest you contact a licensing expert as they will be able to provide you with the correct information.  To do this please see this site: http://www.microsoft.com/business/performancepoint/howtobuy/default.aspx

2. In the monitoring and Analytics, I could notice that the Dashboard Designer is the key component to design reports or to import reports from SCALA reporting services or proclarity analytics server. Are any other components in monitoring and analytics that is useful in creating reports?

Dashboard Designer is the component you use to design and publish reports.