none
Master Project not updated RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I started playing with Project Server 2007 and experience an issue, but first my situation:

• Project 01
    1. Task 01, Duration 5 days
    2. Task 02, Duration 10 days
    • Project 02
    1. Task 01, Duration 20 days
    2. Task 02, Duration 3 days

I uploaded the files to the server and created a third project, which should be used as master project - Project 00. In this project 01 and 02 are inserted via link (read and write). In 00 it is also defined that Task 02 (=Project 02) has Task 01 (=Project 01) as Predecessor. Having this published to the server it shows me also fine the total time.

I now opened Project 01 and amended the duration of Task 01 from 20 days to 200 days, published this and in the project center I see the extended duration in the gantt for this task, but project 00 still shows with the old duration. When accessing Project 00 via PWA and extending the task reflecting the project link to Project 02 I see the new duration.

Am I misusing something? I can see the new duration of Project 02 - Task 01 in the detail, but would also like to have the gantt bar of project 00 seeing as extended.

Saturday, March 26, 2011 6:59 PM

Answers

• Hi Philipp,

you are not misusing the system. What you see is caused by design.

After changing duration Task 01 of Project 01, the new duration saved and published with Project 01. But since you haven't opened and published your master Project 00 afterwards, this project can't display this new information. Project 00 is not yet updated, looking at Project 00 does only display information published with this project.

When you expand Project 01, however, actual information for Project 01 is retrieved from published and the new duration is displayed. This new duration will not be displayed until you re-open Project 00 and publish it.

Not sure if this does help?
    Regards
    Barbara

Saturday, March 26, 2011 7:27 PM

All replies

• Hi Philipp,