none
Does anyone know of a good article that describes how to "design a script" RRS feed

• General discussion

• I am looking for an article that describes how to design a script, not how to write a script.

There are plenty of good articles on best practise around writing scripts that include things like commenting, formatting, use full parameter names etc.

I am a fairly intermittent coder. Usually I am writing to automate tasks for other people to use. I write several scripts over a few weeks and then may not write another script for a year. Normally I am using Powershell.

I normally have a good idea of who will be using the scripts, what and how they will input parameters, who will use the output and what format that output will be in.

Simple single output scripts are easy, they have one goal and you can script from input to output.
    When I script more complex tasks with several inputs, and several outputs (maybe something like an AD user creation, folder creation, confirmation email, etc.), I tend to jump straight in from inputs and work my way to the outputs. This does work, but I can also make quite a few rewrites during the process as I have not anticipated various issues or consequences. Or the rewrites may be because I can get a little OCD and then want to rewrite the code cleaner and more economical. Basically I don't plan the script, I just write it and have to backtrack several times.

So I am looking for a good article on how to design/plan the internal logic of a script, between the inputs and the outputs, before I start coding. This is in an attempt to make me a more efficient coder.
    I hope that makes sense.

Regards
    Stuart

Saturday, August 1, 2015 5:20 AM

All replies

• Here are some video tutorials:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vNHpsC5ng_E

\_(ツ)_/

Saturday, August 1, 2015 7:47 AM
  • This TechNet wiki article 

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/wiki/contents/articles/11311.powershell-optimization-and-performance-testing.aspx