none
Duration days changing when updating % complete RRS feed

• Question

• I am somewhat new @ project and am just learning so bare with me, team. I am using Project 2010 SP1. 

So I base-lined a set of deliverable's, set the start, current and status date, updated the % comp to 10% on the first task within the deliverable group, and then hit F9 to update the project. When I did that the days on this particular task went from 12 to 14.8 days. I am still learning but was curious why project would push the duration out from 12 to 14.8 days?

Looks as though what project is doing is accounting for 1.2 days completed and a remainder of 10.8 days to complete. So instead of assuming we can cram the 10.8 days in the remaining 8 days, it adds the remaining 10.8 days to the calendar. Hence moving the duration to 14.8 days and pushing the schedule out. 

Ideas? 

Monday, July 14, 2014 7:58 PM

Answers

• The system is functioning correctly. You do not have an issue with your settings. Under the hood, project is calculating work values for the task. When you set a status date and a completion percentage, Project reschedules the remaining work. Understanding the basic scheduling engine principals is key to using Project effectively. This is not a concept that is easy to understand, and usually requires training or effective self study. For the latter option, consider grabbing a copy of the Ultimate Study Guide Foundations: Project 2010 by Dale Howard or our computer based training version available at http://www.msprojectexperts.com

For questions that concern only the Project client, you are far better served by posting them to the Project and Project Professional forum, where all of the scheduling gurus hang out. You will get better answers in that forum. With that said, you need training or study to understand the scheduling engine as it is far from intuitive.

Gary Chefetz, MCITP, MCP, MVP msProjectExperts
    Project and Project ServerFAQs
    Project Server Help BLOG