none
How to add "Get-content" in this script RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all

I am new in PowerShell. I have this script and it works fine but I want to use the script on remote machines. 
    For that I want to add "get-content" to the script. But I do not know how to do. 
    For example : $ computers = get-content C:\scriptgenius\computerslist.txt or Get-Content C:\temp\serverlist.txt
    Finally you see what I want to do.
    Please help :)

The script is below :

$Session = New-Object -ComObject "Microsoft.Update.Session"
    $Searcher = $Session.CreateUpdateSearcher()
    $historyCount = $Searcher.GetTotalHistoryCount()
    #$Searcher.QueryHistory(0, $historyCount) | Select-Object Date,@{name="Operation"; expression={switch($_.operation){1 {"Installation"}; 2 {"Uninstallation"}; 3 {"Other"}}}}, @{name="Status"; expression={switch($_.resultcode){1 {"In Progress"}; 2 {"Succeeded"}; 3 {"Succeeded With Errors"};4 {"Failed"}; 5 {"Aborted"} }}}, Title,  Description | Export-Csv -NoType "$Env:systemdrive\Desktop\Windows Updates1.csv"
    $Searcher.QueryHistory(0, $historyCount) | Select-Object Date,@{name="Operation"; expression={switch($_.operation){1 {"Installation"}; 2 {"Uninstallation"}; 3 {"Other"}}}}, @{name="Status"; expression={switch($_.resultcode){1 {"In Progress"}; 2 {"Succeeded"}; 3 {"Succeeded With Errors"};4 {"Failed"}; 5 {"Aborted"} }}}, Title,  Description | Export-Csv -NoType "$Env:systemdrive\Temp\$env:computername$(get-date -f ddMMyyyy)Windows Updates1.csv"

• Edited by proadama Saturday, December 1, 2018 9:38 PM
    Saturday, December 1, 2018 9:38 PM

Answers

• The answer has been given above.  You need to use the remotely connected COM object or you need to use PowerShell remoting.

Please understand that this forum is not here to provide custom scripts on request.  You must be a trained Windows tech and have learned basic PowerShell.  If you are not a tech then you can contact a consultant.