none
Advanced editor, if statement multiple tables RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

i am a noob in power queries. I have a question: I want to pull data from a website which has several tables which, depending on the day, may very in number. 

For example, i would like to append tables which could be 2 tables or 3 tables, depending on the day, like the following:

let

Source = Web.Page(Web.Contents("https://www.planetwin365.it/Sport/OddsAsync.aspx?EventID=7916")),

Data1 = Source{1}[Data],
        #"Cambio1" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Data1,{{"Column1", type text}, {"Column2", type text}, {"Column3", type text}}),
        #"Reverse1" = Table.ReverseRows(#"Cambio1"),
        #"Promuovi1" = Table.PromoteHeaders(#"Reverse1"),

Data4 = Source{4}[Data],
        #"Cambio4" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Data4,{{"Column1", type text}, {"Column2", type text}, {"Column3", type text}}),
        #"Reverse4" = Table.ReverseRows(#"Cambio4"),
        #"Promuovi4" = Table.PromoteHeaders(#"Reverse4"),

/* IF THE FOLLOWING TABLE EXIST */

Data7 = Source{7}[Data],
        #"Cambio7" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Data4,{{"Column1", type text}, {"Column2", type text}, {"Column3", type text}}),
        #"Reverse7" = Table.ReverseRows(#"Cambio7"),
        #"Promuovi7" = Table.PromoteHeaders(#"Reverse7"),

/* Then */
        Appended = Table.Combine({#"Promuovi1",#"Promuovi4", #"Promuovi7"})

/* Else */

Appended = Table.Combine({#"Promuovi1",#"Promuovi4"})

in 
         Appended  

Maybe it's just the wrong way of working with power queries, i really don't know how to handle it.

Thank you very much for your support. 

• Edited by Fra Catts Wednesday, April 5, 2017 1:52 PM
    Wednesday, April 5, 2017 10:47 AM

Answers

• My suggestion would be the following solution.

If you can provide a valid event-ID, I can test it (if so required).

In order to apply all steps above to each of the tables, you can create a function query, e.g. ExpandData as

(Data as table) =>
    let