none
Can a prompt for password appear before killing process RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone,

I am new to scripting and have tried to look for an answer to my question in other forums, but have not had the chance to get one.

I am trying to see if I can get a prompt to enter password before the process to kill the application occurs. Is this possible or not?

Thanks,

Joel

Sunday, January 25, 2015 5:58 AM

Answers

• It sounds like you are wanting to create a kiosk mode. It sounds like you should be able to use the assigned access feature (I believe this first appeared in Windows 8.1). You can ask about that in a more appropriate forum.

-- Bill Stewart [Bill_Stewart]

Sunday, January 25, 2015 7:51 PM

All replies

• Hey Joel,

Are you wanting to write a cmdlet for killing a process that prompts for a password, when they run the cmdlet, or for a password prompt to occur natively whenever you try and kill a process in Windows? For the latter, you're better to take another approach.

Look at locking down the user environment by restricting access to programs such as Task Manager and so on, which can actually do the process termination. You can configure a GPO which can set which services can be killed though.  And of course if the end user really needs local admin rights in the first place.

Sunday, January 25, 2015 7:20 AM
  • A user can kill any process that the user creates.  It does not require a password.

What you are asking is very vague.  You need to explain it better.

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Sunday, January 25, 2015 9:04 AM
  • Sorry about that.

I have created a script that will hide task bar and keep the necessary application maximized. The end user is not to close the application and if they try to I would like to ask for a password. I hope I have explained myself somewhat better.

Is this something I can do with powershell?

• Edited by skripting Sunday, January 25, 2015 5:29 PM Modified
    Sunday, January 25, 2015 5:28 PM