Compatibility With Power Builder 5.0 With Windows 7 RRS feed

• Question

• I am a power builder 5.0 developer. Providing support & maintenance to various application which was develop using power builder 5.0 and oracle 8i. But few days before i am facing some problem (unable to connect to OLE object), the application work fine with XP operating system but when i am going to implement those application in windows 7 environment it create so many problem even i am not able to install the power builder 5.0 in windows 7 machine. I have some questions please help me.

1. Power Builder 5.0 is compatible with windows 7 ?

2. Is it possible to overcome the problem which is happening power builder 5.0 application in windows 7 environment ?

3. To overcome this short of problem  need to migrate the Power builder version ?

Please help me.

Thanks & e-Regrads 

Avishek

When i am going to install power builder 5 in windows 7 environment system through PPO error, please help me

Tuesday, August 2, 2011 7:37 AM

Answers

All replies

• PowerBuilder 5 is a VERY OLD program and is not compatible with Windows 7.  You need to contact Sybase for Support: http://www.sybase.com/products/modelingdevelopment/powerbuilder

See info @

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/compatibility/windows-7/en-us/Search.aspx?l=en-us&type=Software&s=PowerBuilder&os=32-bit

and

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/compatibility/windows-7/en-us/Search.aspx?l=en-us&type=Software&s=PowerBuilder&os=64-bit

Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread. ”
    • Marked as answer by Miya Yao Thursday, August 4, 2011 6:41 AM
    Tuesday, August 2, 2011 2:04 PM