none
Problem with Auto-Generated Calender Table (Cannot Convert [Table Name] to type Table RRS feed

• Question

• Hi All,

I have been using the below code for several months now. It originally came from "M is for Data Monkey" book (Love that book!) and I just copy / past it to my new workbook to generate a calendar table.  All of a sudden, I am getting this odd error:

The only thing I changed was to add variables in the code to capture the date filed and query (table) name so I don't have to keep editing all the names in the m code.  Thought it would be easier to change them in only one place at the beginning of the code.  Here's the code.  The error happens on the "ChangedType" step.

//Instructions: Create a blank Query.  Copy / Paste this code into the Advanced Editor window.  Be sure to replace "<fldName>" and ","tbbName" variables below to correct names.
    //Query Name..: tblCalendar (Be sure to name it before close and load...)
    //Author......: John Thomas (Idea from "M is for Data Monkey"!)
    //Date........: March, 2017
    //Purpose.....: Create a Table with a record for every day between the Min and Max dates in your data set.  
    //		Min date starts at the first of the month containing data.  Example 1/24/17 min date in data would generate a calendar table starting at 1/1/2017.
    //		Max date ends at the last date containing data + one month. Example 2/28/17 max date in data would generate a calendar table ending at 3/31/17.

let
        fldName = "GLDate", //RENAME TO THE DATE FILED IN YOUR DATA SET.  Should be the one used for the relationship to the fact table!!!
        tblName = "tblPDPmts", //RENAME TO THE TABLE (QUERY) NAME IN YOUR DATA SET!!!

ChangedType = Table.TransformColumnTypes(tblName,{{fldName, type date}}),                               
        MaxDate = Date.EndOfMonth(Date.AddMonths(Record.Field(Table.Max(ChangedType, fldName), fldName), 1)),