none
Background column colors are changing randomly! RRS feed

• Question

• Dear all,

I am working in project professional 2010 and 2016. I have a Master file in which there are about 20 sub-project files imported. Each sub-project file contains less than 200 tasks (this number corresponds to the number of rows). I also use a separate resources file, in common with all the sub-project files. I have nearly 20 columns activated and displayed in the master project file.

Now when I try to select a complete column and want to assign a background color, sometime for the firs 1 or 2 columns, it works well, but latest for the 4 column, it begins to change randomly the color of cells which got a new background color just before! It seems to be random, but uses only the colors that were used previously, and only affect cells in columns that were assigned previously (i.e. it does not color a cell that has a white default background color).

The same behavior is observed in Microsoft Project 2010 and 2016, on the files I use (only in the master file). The problem is very annoying. Between the inserted sub-projects, I have some blank lines to facilitate the overview.

The issue does not seem to occur in the sub-project files, when the sub-project files are opened as single files and the colors applied to columns in the the sub-project files. The problem is that if I apply the colors to the sub-project files, they are not visible in the master file.

Does anybody have a work around to this annoying behavior? Or any idea to what this behavior could be related?

Thanks in advance for your answers.

Best regards

Vincent

Saturday, February 18, 2017 8:52 AM

All replies

• Vincent,

At any time do you see this message?

If you have NOT seen this message then I'd say your master file is corrupt.